## Council 2 FEBRUARY 2023

Present: Councillors: Kate Rowbottom (Chairman), Ian Stannard (Vice-

Chairman), Tony Bevis, John Blackall, Martin Boffey, Chris Brown, Jonathan Chowen, Philip Circus, Paul Clarke, Michael Croker,

Ray Dawe, Ruth Fletcher, Joan Grech, Tony Hogben (Deputy Leader),

Nigel Jupp, Richard Landeryou, Gordon Lindsay, Tim Lloyd, John Milne, Colin Minto, Mike Morgan, Roger Noel, Jon Olson, Bob Platt, Josh Potts, Sam Raby, Stuart Ritchie, Jack Saheid,

Diana van der Klugt, Claire Vickers, Belinda Walters and Tricia Youtan

Apologies: Councillors: Matthew Allen, Andrew Baldwin, Christine Costin,

Brian Donnelly, Billy Greening, Liz Kitchen, Christian Mitchell,

Louise Potter, David Skipp and James Wright

Absent: Councillors: Toni Bradnum, Alan Britten, Karen Burgess,

Peter Burgess, Lynn Lambert and Clive Trott

## CO/55 **DECLARATIONS OF MEMBERS' INTERESTS**

There were no declarations of interest.

## CO/56 **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

There were no announcements.

## CO/57 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER

It was moved by Councillor Josh Potts and seconded by Councillor Roger Noel that Councillor Claire Vickers be appointed Leader of the Council. There were no other nominations.

Councillors Martin Boffey stated that he did not have confidence in the proposal, and raised concerns about a change in leadership prior to the upcoming elections.

Councillor Hogben responded by stating that the Conservative Group had a wealth of experience, and the proposal for Leader was one who has a good track record and would provide continuity of leadership.

Councillor Michael Croker further stated that he considered the circumstances regarding the resignation of Councillor Jonathan Chowen as demeaning to the democratic process.

It was moved by Councillor Martin Boffey and seconded by Councillor Jon Olson that the vote be recorded, in accordance with Rule 4a.19 (d) of the Council's Constitution.

FOR THE MOTION: John Blackall, Chris Brown, Philip Circus, Paul Clarke, Ray Dawe, Tony Hogben, Nigel Jupp, Richard Landeryou, Gordon Lindsay, Tim Lloyd, Roger Noel, Josh Potts, Stuart Ritchie, Kate Rowbottom, Jack Saheid, Ian Stannard, Diana van der Klugt, Claire Vickers, Tricia Youtan

AGAINST THE MOTION: Tony Bevis, Martin Boffey, Jonathan Chowen, Michael Croker, Ruth Fletcher, Joan Grech, John Milne, Colin Minto, Jon Olson, Bob Platt, Sam Raby, Belinda Walters

ABSTAINED: Mike Morgan

ABSENT: Matthew Allen, Andrew Baldwin, Toni Bradnum, Alan Britten, Karen Burgess, Peter Burgess, Christine Costin, Brian Donnelly, Billy Greening, Liz Kitchen, Lynn Lambert, Christian Mitchell, Louise Potter, David Skipp, Clive Trott, James Wright

The Motion was therefore declared CARRIED and it was RESOLVED that Councillor Claire Vickers be appointed Leader of the Council.

The meeting closed at 6.14 pm having commenced at 6.00 pm

**CHAIRMAN**